Nutrition and Pleasure

My friend shared this article on Facebook yesterday. It basically looks at the connection between how much we enjoy wheat we’re eating and how our body uses the nutrients from the food. What the study found is that the more we enjoy what we’re eating, the better our body uses the nutrients from that food. AND — it sparks our metabolism to boot. Woo Hoo!! That being said, it also is very clear that this doesn’t give us a free pass to go out and binge on a lot of processed foods and fatty foods and expect to see the weight come off.

I read the article yesterday evening and thought about it throughout the night (I was up a lot with little D wanting to nurse constantly), and here’s what I came up with. As I continue on my journey of trying to eat clean, I keep questioning what this looks like to me. Is it Tosca Reno’s version on clean eating? A whole foods diet? Paleo? I’ve dabbled in the all. And for me I think it really is a combo of them all. I am definitely not a Paleo gal – I love my grains. But, there are some great recipes out there that allow me to mix up what is going in my mouth. I think I go forward and continue to try to eat whole, unprocessed foods as much as I can. But, my eating plan is going to contain things that I find yummy and not just what a magazine has printed for me as what to eat for the day. And, when I want to cheat (because we all do), I’m going to weigh my options, but not deny myself that craving. I’ve been able to find some pretty good recipes for sweets that use healthier options for butter and sugar. Are the good for me? Probably nutritionally not any better than the original recipes (for example, Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies), but at least I know that the ingredients are a little easier for my body to process. And, if I’m finding pleasure while I’m eating my modified “healthier” sweets, then according to this article, my body is using what nutrients are in there better.

And so I’m putting that into practice today. As I was staring down the option of making yet another bowl of oatmeal for breakfast, I stumbled across this recipe for Cinnamon Bun Muffins in my Facebook feed. Yep — they are in the oven now. It’s a paleo recipe, but the ingredients are all clean and I can’t wait to see how they taste. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

